8 hour dream cream?!

I have known about Elizabeth Arden’s 8 hour cream for the last couple of years – a skin protectant that can be used on literally every part of you for a whole range of reasons. On the back it states “this legendary skincare classic works wonders to moisturise and protect anytime, anyway you choose. Shape brows, revitalise shine, soothe dry hands and smooth cuticles and nails. Also for symptoms of chapping, peeling or cracked lips.”
Elizaberth Arden Eight Hour Cream (Skin Protectant)
Elizaberth Arden Eight Hour Cream (Skin Protectant)

A long list of potential benefits – I thought I would put each point to the test (as best as I can of course!)

Shape brows – I have tried it a couple of times and yes it does help to keep those stray hairs at bay, at least for a little while. When you first put it on, it gives your eye brows a subtle ‘wet’ look, so you really can’t use much. After about an hour I did find those stray hairs that never want to sit in place, sitting in the wrong place again! You would need to keep the 8 hour cream on you and apply it regularly if you wanted to keep a strict eyebrow shape. Definitely rate it a 4/10 for this usage – bit disappointed!

Revitalise shine – I honestly haven’t tried this out. I am not quite sure as someone with combination skin, I would want to add shine to my already shiny face. I am guessing if you had dry, flakey or dull skin, this would definitely be of benefit. The texture of the cream is gel like and slightly sticky so I could see it giving someone a natural shine – although I would use with caution. Can’t rate this, but maybe you can? Leave a comment and share your experience of this!

Soothe dry hands and smooth cuticles & nails – It definitely does this! I do suffer from dry hands particularly in winter and across my knuckles. Using just a little bit of this miracle cream, the dryness has been replaced with what looks like moisturised skin! Only problem is because of the texture and type of cream it is, where I have used it on my hand looks greasy/wet and this look hasn’t entirely gone within 5 minutes. Although the greasiness look has gone from around my cuticles. Within 20 minutes it still has a greasy/wet look on the skin. For this use I would rate it an 7/10 – its great to elevate dryness but leaves a residue/wet look behind. I’d also only put this on the areas you want it to work and not use it as an entire hand cream as the feeling afterwards becomes a sticky one and you won’t be able to touch anything for awhile!

Soothe dry skin:

Before applying cream - dryness around knuckles and in between fingers
Before applying cream – dryness around knuckles and in between fingers. Skin looks dull
After using the cream - dryness around knuckles and in between fingers gone - skin looks moisturised
After using the cream – dryness around knuckles and in between fingers gone – skin looks moisturised

Smooth cuticles

Before using cream -Dryness/flaky skin around cuticles (mine are pretty bad!)
Before using cream -Dryness/flaky skin around cuticles (mine are pretty bad!)
After using cream - appearance of cuticles much smoother and look more healthy & hydrated! They still do 20 minutes on!
After using cream – appearance of cuticles much smoother and look more healthy & hydrated! They still do 20 minutes on!

Peeling, chapped or cracked lips – I have used it a couple of times for this and my lips certainly feel moisturised immediately after applying the cream. It has a similar texture to lipstick when no the lips, as long as you don’t use too much. So if you hate lipgloss, this cream might be the way to go! It gives a natural shine without being heavy looking. In some way it actually brings out the colour of your lips which is a nice change from using red or pink lipsticks! Definitely rate it an 8/10 for this claim!

When I have used it on my hands, even after washing them countless times, I do see the texture of the skin is much more hydrated and that the dryness is not as bad before I started using this product. A good one for the winter – I’d recommend it (particularly on cuticles) if you find dryness of your skin very annoying! It definitely acts as a protective layer on the skin even after washing your hands – you can still feel its there. Overall, I give this product a strong 6/10. If they just removed the greasy look and feel, this would be a killer product!

I did not receive any commission or any money for this review, this is my genuine opinion – links to websites are for your reference

Leave a Reply

